Thursday, August 25, 2011


I'm posting as part of Ramble Ginger's typical day link-up dealie. My typical Tuesdays - Fridays go something like this:

5:20 AM  MB's alarm goes off and he gets up to shower (he reports to work at 6:00 AM). At this point, my life becomes a nested set of if / then statements: If Nico stays asleep (or wakes up but is happy to play quietly in his crib), then I get to go back to sleep. If Nico wakes up fussing, then I get him and bring him back to bed with me. If he falls alseep on my chest, then I get to nap with him (my favorite). If he doesn't, then his choices are to hang out on the bed or to go and play with his toys in his room. If he chooses the play in his room option, then sometimes I get to go back to sleep for a while (second favorite).

7:13 AM  my alarm goes off

7:30 AM - 7:45 AM  I actually get out of bed, with varying degrees of speed depending on whether or not I'm late.

7:45 - 8:00 AM  brush teeth / wash face / put on work clothes / change Nico's diaper...there are immense benefits to being a girl who wears her hair in a bun every day and doesn't own any makeup.

8:00 - 8:15 AM  Put Nico in his high chair and give him a bowl of Kix, goldfish, and rice puffs. Throw lunch items I assembled the night before into my lunch box. Give dog his "family is leaving, you are staying" slice of cheese (He used to be crated during the day, and he got a slice of cheese as a treat if he went into his crate when he was told. He came to associate the cheese with staying behind and behaving, so we still give it to him so he knows he's supposed to stay behind and behave. On the rare occasion that I forget the cheese, he shames me with the force of his mournful expression.) Let Nico pick two trucks to take for the day.

8:15 - 8:30 AM  Drive Nico to my parents' house, where he'll eat breakfast and be dressed for the day. Drive to work.

8:30 AM  Eat some kind of portable breakfast at work (banana, leftover biscuit, granola bar, etc). If I don't have a morning program, I usually check my email, voicemail, and facebook before starting whatever tasks I have on my list for the day. If I do have a program, I make sure all supplies and paperwork are pulled and get ready to start at 9:00

9:00 - 11:30 AM  Present program or do miscellaneous work stuff

11:30 AM - noon  Eat lunch. If I was on time, I eat in the kitchen and read. If I need to make up some time, I eat at my desk.

12:00 - 2:00 PM  Usually miscellaneous work tasks, rarely a program, sometimes a meeting

2:00 - 3:00 PM  the slowest hour of every day, often spent bullshitting with the guy who sits across from me

3:00 - 5:00 PM  If I have things to do, this portion of the day flies by so that I barely get done. If I don't, it's not too slow and I try to finish up odds and ends for the next day.

5:00 - 5:30 PM  Pick Nico up, head home (Unless it's Wednesday. On Wednesday we eat at Mom & Dad's, go to swimming lessons, and get home around 7:30.)

5:30 - 6:30 PM  Dinner, setting up Nico's play yard, changing clothes, etc

6:30 - 8:00 PM  time we try to give pretty much exclusively to Nico, though sometimes there are chores that have to be done

8:00 - 8:30  Nico's bedtime - brush teeth, pjs, bedtime stories, nursing, songs, into the crib

8:30 - midnight  pick up Nico's toys, do laundry or dishes or other chores, pack lunch for the next day, watch Netflix with MB, footle on the internet, maybe write a blog post, possibly fall asleep on the couch, eventually realize I've stayed up far too late

12:00 - 12:45 AM  shower!

1:00 AM  go to bed, for the love of God


  1. what is it about that 2-3 chunk that is just the death of the day?

  2. You function on WAY less sleep than I would be OK with! ACK